Surefire G2 Beam Quality and Rings in the Halo

NCBirdHunter

Newly Enlightened
Hi all --

I'm a newbie to the world of 'real' flashlights and have been lurking for quite a while on this board -- I finally decided to join the fray.

I recently ordered a SF G2 and received it earlier this week. Overall, I am very impressed with the fit and finish and quality of manufacture.

I do have a question regarding the quality of the beam. If I hold the light parallel to the ground with the Surefire logos at 12 and 6 o'clock, I see three very noticeable rings in the halo that run between the 3 and 6 o'clock position. Is this normal? Or should I expect a certain amount of imperfection in the beam? After lurking on this board for several weeks and reading hundreds of posts, I guess I was under the impression (perhaps falsely) that the beam would be almost 'perfect'.

Thanks for your replies.

OzMan

Size15's

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF!

I have a few questions for you so that we can work out what's going on. I can't understand what you're seeing.

You are shining the G2 straight onto a surface from how far away?

How does the beam look when on a target 5, or 10 metres away?

I re-read you post and got the impression you are shining the beam at a target in the distance and the surround beam is illuminating the ground in front of you. You are seeing rings in that surround beam on the ground whilst the central beam is being targeted at something else.
Is this correct?

Perhaps what you are seeing is the edge of the beam which has the outline of the retaining ring's notches [used to screw down the lens]. Perhaps you are also seeing the light output which has been corrupted by the edge of the reflector/lens retaining parts. If you are seeing what I think you are seeing then the A2 has this too.