Freezer problem

kev1-1

Enlightened
I wasn't going to post this, but...there seems to be at least one person who knows something about anything posted here! My built in freezer (Creda 26351, about 11-years old) just stopped maintaing sub-zero temps.
Any ideas why?
Is there possibly a /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif cheap /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif solution? OR is it a get a new freezer type of problem.? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/icon23.gif

Lurker

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm not a referigeration expert, but AFAIK the mechanicals usually either work or they don't. Could you have too much dust built up on the coils behind/under the unit to allow for efficient heat transfer to the outside air? Just a guess. Otherwise I would suspect low referigerant (R-12) wihch would indicate a leak or a compressor about to fail. Those things can be repaired, but it's an old unit, so may not be worthwhile. You could consult a repair service.

Has the unit been moved or transported recently? Improper handling of old referigeration equipment can finish it off very easily.

Edit: you should check the simplest things first such as a thermostat setting that has been knocked out of adjustment, or excessive frost build-up preventing thermal transfer.

DieselDave

Super Moderator,
Kev-1-1,
My frostless freezer kept frosting up and I decided to look on-line. There is a website, I will look for it that's has a bunch of info. and a trouble shooting guide and schematic for many problems. I paid my $10 to get a weeks access and it was well worth the money. My heater on my freezer had gone out. It walked me through about 5 checks before determining exactly what it was then it showed me how to replace the thing.

Found it,
http://www.fridgedoctor.com/generic/art/305.html

snakebite

Flashlight Enthusiast
is the compressor running?
common problem is a bad defrost timer.
you can turn it with a screwdriver and see if the compressor comes on.