2D LED Maglite upgrade to a Malkoff Devices dropin???

NavyDavy

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to high tech flashlights and a newly sworn reserve deputy. I work mostly evenings so a good light is paramount. I primarily have an E1b (favorite), Stinger DS LED, and a 2D cell Maglite LED. The maglite is usually carried as a backup in the gear bag.

I'm wondering what a Malkoff Devices dropin will do for the 2D cell Maglite which already is an LED?

Thanks.

Last edited:

ninjaboigt

Enlightened
im not too experience in the flashlight world, but im pretty sure malkoff will def bring u more light...u shhould go to their website, and check out the contacts information and call Gene Malkoff, he'll tell him self ; )

HunkaBurninLove

Newly Enlightened
Welcome, NavyDavy.

I can't speak for the Malkoff Mag drop-ins, but I have a Surefire M60L drop-in and *love* it. Solidly constructed and great beam quality.

Here is the web link to the Malkoff Mag drop-ins , but it looks like it has to have a "D" in the beginning of the serial number.

Someone who has a Malkoff Mag drop-in can give their opinion.

optodoofus

Newly Enlightened
I've got a Malkoff drop-in in my 3D Maglite. It blows away the output from a MagLED. It is extremely well-built product. You can certainly get more light out of a Maglite (hotwire mod or one of the multi-LED drop-ins), but the regular Malkoff drop-in provides a whole lot of light while sipping at the batteries.

I think Gene is running a sale until July 4th (10% off any in-stock items; though stock can sometimes be hard to find there due to the popularity of his products)

optodoofus

PhantomPhoton

Flashlight Enthusiast