Help with my p7 3d mag

CaneZMD

Newly Enlightened
Hi, I'm a newb. I tried Stefan's p7 mod for my 3d maglite.

I took my 3d maglite, installed H22a's heatsink with arctica alumina epoxy to a CSXOI P7 LED. Then I wired up Stefan's amc 7135 1 amp multimode driver and the 1.4 amp slave board. So that should be 2.4 amps.

It turns on, and I have all the modes, but when I tested the mA at the tail cap...I am only drawing 1 mA. Not 2.4 mA; only 1 mA.

It's running on new alkaline D cells. Is that the problem? or did I screw up the wiring? Does anyone know what the mA should be with alks using stefan's mod?

I'm planning on buying nimh but I want to make sure there is no problem other then the alkaline batteries. If I get nimh D cells will the mA increase upto 2.4 amps from the 1 amp with alks?

CaneZMD

Newly Enlightened
I read stefan's thread and he was discussing 3 vs 4 nimh batts with the amc 7135 boards. He said that they were good upto 4.5 volts and that 4 nimh would be outside the edge of the boards thermal management capapbilities. 3 nimh or 1 LiON was what he recommended.

It seems like 3 nimh for 3.6 volts is a little low, but 4 nimh at 4.8 is a little hot.

I've got two 3 d's so I think I'll stick with 3 for now, but thanks for the tip.

I think it's just the alkaline cells. It draws (on high) 1 amp with 3 alks D's. It goes up to 1.65 amps with 4, then 2.15 amps with 5 alk d cells.

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Are you sure it's mA(Milliamp)? Because that would be pretty dim. I'm guessing you mean 1 A(or amp).

Alkaline batteries have a much higher internal resistance then rechargeable batteries so they won't supply as much current as rechargeable batteries.

VegasF6

Flashlight Enthusiast
I read stefan's thread and he was discussing 3 vs 4 nimh batts with the amc 7135 boards. He said that they were good upto 4.5 volts and that 4 nimh would be outside the edge of the boards thermal management capapbilities. 3 nimh or 1 LiON was what he recommended.