SUREFIRE Question (Removing the white product / U.S. Patent info on body of light)

ARCLITE242

Newly Enlightened
Sunday, June 29th, 2008

Hello fellow CPF members ...

I am a newbie to this forum, so please pardon my question if it has been posted and answered elswhere on the site. I am interested in obtaining a Surefire "E2D LED Defender" for both personal use and as a defensive backup. The reason is that I run long distance (jogging) at night down here in hot and humid Florida and, in my opinion, nighttime is the best time to beat the heat. While out and about, I have had to be ever vigilant of individuals walking their dogs and / or roaming neighborhood dogs, nighttime thugs, and automobiles that tend to get too close with drivers that think that I am some type of pedestrian target (i.e. "Let's make that dude jump off of the road and into the ditch by driving straight at him"). Sad but true. Maybe I should invest in a smaller version of a Glock 9mm? :sick2:

So ... rather than carry some type of expandable baton (a Monadnock or ASP version), I decided on a Surefire flashlight. The E2D LED really stood out among the vast assortment of high-end flashlights on the market, and I think will suit my needs perfectly. It is small enough for me to carry in my hand without adding weight to affect my arm momentum as I run, and it provides a very mean kick of light to blind an assailant (or to light up a dark path that I may be on), and just in case, the crenellated strike bezel located on the head and base of the light are a great comfort to me if an altercation occurrs.