Is It Possible To Create An Ambient Light With LEDs?

TheGeekInTroy

Newly Enlightened
I've been looking for a wide-angle flashlight that can create an "ambient" light source. It would have to produce light at a 45 degree angle (more if possible). Once of the drawbacks of LEDs is that they create "spots" of light instead of a radiant light source like that of an incandescent light-bulb for example. Specifically I'm referring to the fact that an LED by it's nature is light magnified into a small area (at least that's my understanding). Is there already a solution for these issues.

TheGeekInTroy

Newly Enlightened
I'm a bit new to the terminology and components. I'm assuming you're referring to something that akin to a mirror or some such mechanism that reflects light and thereby amplifies it's power. What do you mean by "no reflector"?

TheGeekInTroy

Newly Enlightened
WadeF » Those pictures of the H-30 are quite impressive if I do say so myself! What a difference between that and the H-50! How long is the battery life on both of them. I didn't bother to look at the text much. :)

TheGeekInTroy

Newly Enlightened
I will definitely take a look at the Welcome mat. Thanks for the welcome as well. I did not realize there was so much to know about Flashlights. It's incredible the amount of information to digest.

And: :thanks:

2xTrinity

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've been looking for a wide-angle flashlight that can create an "ambient" light source. It would have to produce light at a 45 degree angle (more if possible). Once of the drawbacks of LEDs is that they create "spots" of light instead of a radiant light source like that of an incandescent light-bulb for example. Specifically I'm referring to the fact that an LED by it's nature is light magnified into a small area (at least that's my understanding). Is there already a solution for these issues.