Best Pocket/Compact LED for me?

LightLearner

Newly Enlightened
I work as a Park Ranger for a very large facility so at night it's nice to have a flashlight with me in case I need to use it. I find, however, that for most of my duties, I don't need to carry a full-sized one everywhere at night as it just gets in the way. So size is important to me. I'm really just looking for a sturdy, bright, pocket-sized light with good battery life. It doesn't necessarily have to be "tactical."

People have recommended the INOVA X5 to me but I'm hesitant to buy it because I have no experience with this 123 camera battery it uses. I've heard these are expensive in stores and are better to be bought online. But I'm not really interested in searching for off-the-wall batteries from shady sellers I've never bought from either. Plus, shipping prices may make them not-so-cheap.

So I'm asking you guys because you know way more about these lights than me. First, can I expect the battery life to last for a decent amount of time? Are 123 batteries practical for me to be often? The people who recommended this light to me work in law enforcement and don't have to buy their own batteries. I do, so it's a bit different for me. Is there a good pocket-sized one that uses rechargeables? What's the best compact light that uses alkalines? Thanks a lot!

Last edited:

OrlandoLights

Newly Enlightened