Dorcy 3AAA mod - help request

jimi

Newly Enlightened
I recently found an old Dorcy 3AAA light that I haven't used for a couple of years. It's the same light from these threads.
I think the board is busted, as after I put in a new set of batteries, the light turns on and stays on (the button doesn't work). I took it apart and there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with the actual button, which is why I'm guessing the circuit got messed up somehow.

My question is this: What can I do with it now? I'm completely new to modding flashlights but this seems like a good place to start. Any suggestions on boards or bulbs that I can put in here (preferably from DX as I need to order some things from there anyway)? And how can I fix the switch?
I'd like to keep the 3AAA power source as I've already got lots of rechargeables lying around.
Thanks for the help!

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Does the clickie feel fine when you try to click it?

IIRC 3AAA lights like the Dorcy lack any real circuitry. It's probably just a resistor.

You can try to fit a different switch from DX. You can swap the LED for a current gen one, the Seoul P4 probably works best. You can add a multimode driver.

The LED swap would probably be one of the easier ones.

:welcome:

jimi

Newly Enlightened
Thanks Gunner12.
The clickie feels fine, which is why I though it might be something else. I've taken some pictures of the actual board here, but don't really know what anything is, besides the resistor.

Ideally, I'd like to get the clickie fixed for just a simple on/off. The light originally had an on/strobe/off, which is what the extra components are for (I'm guessing). How could I go about doing that?

After that, I'd like to put in a new LED, most likely this one from your suggestion. From what I can tell, this is the easier task and would just be a simple switch with the current star.