? about the Insight H2x Typhoon 2

yzfmik

Newly Enlightened
I am pretty new to the high quality flashlight world and am interested in the Insight H2x Typhoon 2. I have a Streamlight Scorpion LED and want something a bit better. I am a firefighter and want something pretty tough since I carry it with me most of the time. I found the Typhoon 2 for $149 and was wondering what some opinions are on it, I haven't been able to find any reviews. Everything I found on the Gladius seems positive so I hope the same goes for the H2x. I like that it is brighter (120 Lumens vs 80) and I love the dimming ability. Is this a good light for $150 price range? Also how does it compare to the Surefire U2, I have had some experience with that one too. Thanks for any help.....

Dead_Nuts

Enlightened
The Typhoon II is kind of like an upgraded Gladius. It uses a P4 emitter. Yes, this light is the same light as the Gladius - only now with upgraded lamp. I do not own one, however, so I am not speaking from experience - just what I've read elsewhere.

half-watt

Flashlight Enthusiast
have both the Gladius and the Typhoon 2. both are very nice lights. i definitely can recommend them.

Typhoon 2 has the smooth tailcap to make it easier to carry in a pocket. this tailcap is the only substandard aspect to this light. it appears to be a "kludge" of sorts with a smooth flexible skirt. it is more difficult to locate and line up the pin and groove for proper tailcap assembly. whereas the Gladius was easy to feel with it's non-smooth tailcap, the Typhoon 2 typically takes me two or three tries to line up the pin and groove before i can began to tighten the tailcap. whether this is a peculiarity of my particular light or not, i don't know, but i get the impression that the cheezy flexible skirt extension on the tailcap is causing me some of my woes in this area. the Gladius is almost always a first and only attempt to replace the tailcap - no problems at all.