LF5XT Improvement Suggestions

gadgetnerd

Enlightened
I'm not sure if this thread is premature, but I think enough of these fantastic torches are finally in users' hands* for suggestions that hopefully will find their way back to LiteFlux.

I think the LF5XT is approaching perfect, but I'll start the ball rolling with a couple anyway (in priority order for me).

• Lower low. I'm not an engineer but am surprised that a PWM regulated light can't be made to go down below a couple of lumens. 1 photon/sec would be nice, but I'll settle for 0.1 lumen.
  • Triple click to go back to previous mode. Not a big deal if you've programmed it down to 1-2 modes, but 4-5 mode setups could benefit
  • Less aggressive crenellated head. Perhaps offer the choice of a different (stainless) bezels that can be screwed in.
  • Better shock protection. On higher power settings a strong enough shock (eg dropping the torch onto either end from a few inches high) will cause the light to switch off, presumably due to the battery briefly losing contact.
  • More aggressive knurling. The current knurling is more cosmetic than grippy.
  • Thermal management. No doubt about it, these AA lights get hot on max. Offering optional thermal protection (similar to the optional battery protection) would really push the LF5XT into HDS territory. Of course it means adding totally new sensors to the circuitry...

Thanks in advance for any input!

* And being CPF, no doubt people who don't even own one will chime in too :)

Norm

Retired Administrator
  • Thermal management. No doubt about it, these AA lights get hot on max. Offering optional thermal protection (similar to the optional battery protection) would really push the LF5XT into HDS territory. Of course it means adding totally new sensors to the circuitry...

• Mine seems to only get warm when run on high with a 14500, I would have said they are very good already.
    Norm

StefanFS

Flashlight Enthusiast