Battery explositions?!?

hotbossa

Newly Enlightened
I am a musician so my hands are kinda important to me. I bought some cheap CR123 batteries from Botach (I know, I know :green:) and found that they do not store well. After reading a few threads I found out that cheap battereiws can EXPLODE!!! Ahhhhhhh the humanity! Then after searching on exploding battereis I founds some horrible injuries to hands a feet (secondary explositions after the flashlight is dropped). So my question is this, if I stick to name brand CR123 like Duracell, Energizer Photo, Surefire, Panasonic, can I feel safer about my lights? Thanks for the information.

I believe this issue has more to do with how you use and take care of your batteries. If you follow a few rules, you're far less likely to have an accident.

Here are some rules I follow and I've been through hundreds of cells with no problems:
-never recharge primary batteries
-never mix new and used batteries, or used and used
-don't mix batteries that were purchased more than 6 months apart
-don't use a battery that has physical damage
-keep batteries in a container when carrying them (to prevent physical damage and shorts)

I always treat 2-3 cell flashlights as if their batteries are one battery, once they're in the light, they are not removed until they are dead, and they are thrown away together.

I've used many brands, mainly Titanium, but also SureFire, Streamlight, Tenergy, Panasonic, and Sanyo with no issues. I would think that if there was a defect with a particular brand, it would affect a much larger sample than I've ever seen discussed. There were probably some other circumstances that contributed to the few accidents people have posted about.

Anyone feel free to correct me if you have some useful information, I don't know everything of course.

(As a side, I am not a musician, but my hands are rather important to me as well...)

Last edited:

cdosrun

Enlightened