SIMPLE bright floody light for vision-impaired / LF5XT?

vulcanmoon

Newly Enlightened
My question is similar to this thread below: https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/202587

I'm a newbie to these flashlights and I'm specifically looking for an excellent bright floody (does this quality exist in any LED flashlights?) easy to carry flashlight for an older gentlemen who needs it at night to see his way around the pool and to keep an eye on his dog in the yard. I notice most LED lights are narrow. The forthcoming Surefire UA2 with adjustable lens looks great but it's expensive, unproven and won't be available til end of summer and this is a birthday gift for this month. Some LED lights look as though they have a decent amount of spill but I'm overwhelmed looking at all these different models. It also needs to have a SIMPLE user interface. Maybe just a few different settings.

Here's something I'm considering....the Liteflux LF5XT looks great but it's programmable. If I got that for him (I want to get that one for ME as well!) I could program it for him, but 3 questions arise regarding this light:

1) Once it's programmed would it be easy for him to switch to the setting he wants?
2) Is it unlikely that he'd screw up the programming by toggling it incorrectly?
3) How's the spill on the Liteflux?

If the Liteflux doesn't sound like the best option to you then what would you suggest for him? Thanks a bunch.

Last edited:

Gunner12

Flashaholic
1) I think it would be a bit complicated but I've never seen the light in person.
2) Maybe.
3) Around the same as many other AA lights from what it looks, but it seem like the beam is narrower. Maybe this review would help(look at the last beamshot for a spill shot).

The Fenix L2T V2.0 or L1T V2.0 might work better. Simple to use(loose bezel = low, tight = high), Forward clicke, and Fenix Store has good Customer Service. 8% off coupon at Fenix Store is "CPF8".