Stock Surefire G2L or add Malkoff M60LL ?

Niconical

Enlightened
I have a Surefire G2L on the way to me, bought on the MarketPlace.

Looking at a runtime chart for the stock Surefire G2L (thank you Chevrofreak), it seems the G2L will run for around 4.5 hours before dropping off, at a stated 80 lumens.

The Malkoff M60LL states the same 80 lumens, but with a full output of 8 hours. I'm no expert, but I assume that this longer time is due to the Malkoff using a better LED than the Surefire.

Although I have 2 Surefires on the way to me, and 1 Malkoff, I have never actually seen the beam on a G2L/6PL, nor have I seen any of the Malkoffs.

If the Surefire is a good beam, then the 4.5 hours runtime instead of a possible 8 Malkoff hours isn't a problem for me. 4.5 hours is more than enough for my needs, although more is always better of course.

So, this is my question: Is it worth putting a $75 (cost + shipping) Malkoff M60LL in a $40 light, or is the Surefire good enough to be left as it is?

Thank you :)

candlelight001

Newly Enlightened
I have had both and currently have a G2 w/ M60L in it, unless you have extra cash laying around, play with the stock G2L for a while, then decide if you need/want upgrade... main difference is tint in my experience... Even if you get the malkoff later you've stretched out the fun...

generic808

Enlightened
One thing to keep in mind, as mentioned above, is the tint. All the Surefire P60L's that I've seen have always been on the cool side, with some being straight up purplish :shakehead All the Malkoff's I've seen have always been on the neutral side. So, it boils down to a matter of preference. The P60L is good enough, but if you want the best, Malkoff is the only way to go :twothumbs

Niconical

Enlightened
The P60L is good enough, but if you want the best, Malkoff is the only way to go :twothumbs

I'm swaying towards the Malkoff, but it needs some thought because 1 Malkoff in 1 G2L costs more than 2 G2Ls.