New here.

sarahjenkins

Newly Enlightened
hey folks i'm (re) introducing myself here so i hope i'm posting in the right place. i'm currently studying environmental studies at UofT in Toronto.

I've joined some energy conservation groups on the web and trying to remain as active as I can about these global issues.

(God bless the internet!)

Hope to engage in some meaningful discussions here and share some tips and tricks along the way.

LED-holic

Flashlight Enthusiast
:welcome::welcome:

Great that you care about the environment. I love flashlights because I can turn off my lights at home and just use my lights sparingly much of the time. I love it when it's dark and I have just the right amount of illumination from my uber adjustable light in my hand.

RyanA

Flashlight Enthusiast
Wow Ted. Solar and wind with batteries?:poke:
I'd like to go off-grid when I or hopefully sometime before I retire.

TedTheLed

Flashlight Enthusiast
yup and yup.

maybe you'll be able to go off grid too with the help of nanosolar and their under $2.00 a watt solar panels -- when they get around to selling a few in the US.. :)

RyanA

Flashlight Enthusiast
Thanks Ted! I'll have to check that out. Looks cool! Do you have your array set up on a pivot or the rooftop? Hopefully financing for solar will become more popular. I noticed that this company http://www.soltage.com/ offers an option for real estate developers. With any luck, it might become a popular option with new homeowners/developers.

Just checked it out. NICE! Cut to size, no solder, 25yr warranty...:paypal: Looks very promising.

Last edited:

sarahjenkins

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the welcomes..

There was a blackout in my house today... i wish my laptop had a longer battery life!