Suggestions for a newb.

Surfer Jesus

Newly Enlightened
Hello everyone,

I was sent here from some friends on survivalistboards.com, and this place is just fascinating. Two weeks ago, I didn't know anything was brighter than my 3 x AA (3 Watt) maglight. Then my brother gave me a StreamLight MicroStream, that he got from Sportsman's Warehouse for $15. I was amazed by how a 1 x AAA light could perform almost as well as my maglight.

Anyway, to make a long story short, I started reading up on flashlights and you guys really know your stuff. What I am now looking for is to get started into this hobby but I really don't want to waste my money since I am still a new graduate from college. After reading what you guys have to say, I think that a good beginner light for me would be the Fenix L2D (Q5 premium), because it uses the common 2 x AA (and I have a bunch of the NiMH). It seems to have a descent brightness to runtime ratio.

My questions:
1. I have not read anywhere about it's approximate throw distance (usable at how far).
2. Is the quality good on these, and whats up with some people saying it is not centered?
3. Is this the best bang for my buck as a poor college grad?

Thank you all in advance for taking the time to help a beginner in the field.

Take care.

HoopleHead

Flashlight Enthusiast
:welcome:

do you have a specific purpose that you want a specific flashlight for? eg throw, flood, long runtime, sounds like you have battery requirements. is it for everyday carry on your person, in a bag, leave at home etc. so many choices, best to match the right light to the specific needs...

Gunner12

Flashaholic
1. That would depend a lot on where you use it. It the city you won't get much throw but out in the darkness you might get 100 meter usable beam, presuming turbo mode. I've heard people say they can see the beam hit something 200 meter away but I'm guessing that thing isn't getting lit up much.