Here's what I need

veritas-aequitas

Newly Enlightened
I am presently a Corrections Officer and use a g2 with some sort of cree lamp.

I work nights and would like an extremely bright torch for checking cells and halls. Most of the time the light is only on for a matter of seconds, but I suppose I could keep it on for the entire range check.

Anyone have suggestions of what might work for me?

I was looking at the Solarforce 1200, but have a hard time believing it can do what the pictures say, all for $100. I'd be more powerful than Yoda if the pics were true.

Thanks guys

pipspeak

Enlightened
What sort of emitter do you have currently? The stock Surefire LED or an incandescent lamp?

For lighting up rooms (as opposed to longer throw abilities) it sounds like a G2 or 6P with a Malkoff M60F drop-in would do well ("F" is for flood). The M60F creates what some describe as a "wall of light".

pipspeak

Enlightened
Oh, OK... forget my suggestion since you already have something with a similar output to the M60.

baterija

Flashlight Enthusiast
Here's a thread about the L1200. Are you specifically looking for something brighter overall or would a different beam pattern be what you needed?

veritas-aequitas

Newly Enlightened
Baterija, to be honest I don't know what it is I want/need. When doing range checks I want to ensure I see ALL of the inmates cell, but I also want the light to be powerful enough to blind them in certain situations. Weight and run time aren't that important as the light isn't on very long per range check

baterija

Flashlight Enthusiast