2 d lithium WA1111

beetleguise

Enlightened
Has anyone ever tried running a WA1111 off of 2 d lithiums? I was wondering if the bulb would instaflash without a softstart. I am currently using a 2d lithium with an incan smartdriver/philips 5761 for a work light, but I can't go full bright hot off of the charger or "poof". My co-worker has a mag11, and wants to convert the light to a d cell, because the aw c cells got toasted, and he NEEDS more run time. I advised him to go ahead, but buy the AW incan smart driver. I think he isn't ready to spend a ton of money right now though, and would like to just skip the driver. WA1111's aren't cheap though!

DUQ

Flashlight Enthusiast
The 1111 can be run by 2 x Li-ion cells. I dont see why it would flash on a D Li-ion. I have no experience with 1111's; just knowledge from the halls over at Hotwire-U

cernobila

Flashlight Enthusiast
In my experience, there is no problem, you may not even need a soft start if you use the Kai D Li-ion individual cells, this combo worked well for me in the past.

beetleguise

Enlightened
Thanks guys, but the D cell will make a difference. I used to run a 5761 with 2 c cells and the only problem was the high discharge tripping the cells. So, I switched to D cells, and the 5761 would instaflash right off of the charger every time because those monster cells don't drop the voltage as much as a c cell when in use. If anyone has tried 2 d cells with a WA1111 please let me know how it worked, I would hate for my buddy to go blowing 11 dollars bulbs!

DM51

Flashaholic
My co-worker has a mag11 ... the aw c cells got toasted
Not sure if I understood correctly - how did the cells get toasted?

AW 'C' Li-Ions are easily up to the job of running a WA1111, as they would be running at only ~1.2C, and you would get up to ~45 mins run-time.

The Osram 64250 is a cheaper alternative to the WA1111 ($3 instead of $9) and it gives very similar performance.

beetleguise

Enlightened