• You must be a Supporting Member to participate in the Candle Power Forums Marketplace.

You can become a Supporting Member.

Sold/Expired Interested in 4x17500 holder?

kurni

Enlightened
I contacted mdocod a month ago about 4x17500 holder to fit in 2D unbored M@g. He thought it would be possible since it would follow the same basic layout and end-cap design as his 2x18650>M6 adapter.

4x17500 will provide slightly more Wh than 6 Eneloops: 14.6V * 1100mAh instead of 7.2V * 2000mAh. Slightly more than 1/2 of the capacity but double the voltage allowing boost drivers such as maxFlex2 to drive multi-LED setup harder; at least in burst.

I'm hoping for enough interests for mdocod to build the holder at a reasonable price.

Thanks in for looking :)
Kurni

Sgt. LED

Flashaholic
And what bulb would we be plugging into the bi-pin holder with 14.6V, and what would the runtime be on AW cells?

Since I know nothing!

kurni

Enlightened
I'm an incan noob; I can only rely on what FM said in this thread that WA1132 provides 750 bulb lumens @ 2.2A, which means 2C discharge on AW cells giving 1/2 hour runtime. Overdriven WA1166 provides 900 bulb lumens with regulator @ 2A; less than 2C discharge on AW cells might mean more than 1/2 hour runtime.

Anybody know where I can get such regulator? I've been waiting for AW version but there hasn't been any firm date on when it would be available.

There may be other bulbs; I hope mdocod can chime in regarding the holder and bulb options.

Cheers,
Kurni

Last edited:

gswitter

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm not sure if it fits, but what about removing the tailcap spring and running 3x 18500? One less cell and higher Wh than 4x 17500. Another option would be 6x RCR123A in a 3s2p holder.

Personally, unless you already have the 2D host you're determined to use, I'd opt for a 3C and 3x AW "C" cells for the extra capacity.

kurni

Enlightened