What is the most efficient driver

outer limits

Newly Enlightened
I am new to a lot of this but I am keen to do some mods to lights that I have. I already have lots of 6 volt and 12v batteries from my halogen lights. I dont know what driver to go for. I want to make some lights using Q5 at about 350ma to get good run times but also maybe P7 for mountain biking. Loved the light from jagge and packhorse. Packhorse is in my part of the world, New Zealand sometime seem a long way from a lot of parts.

Doh!Nut

Newly Enlightened
The trouble with the Drivers is that they change efficiency depending their load and supply voltage.
Some of the DX and Kai drivers reach 100% efficiency as Vin drops to Match Vf and the LED gets direct drive. But those drivers are no good for voltages over 6v (and a 6V NiMh will be 7.2 fresh off the charger)

Given the difference between your supply and the led voltage and if you want an off the shelf driver then the sandwich shoppe or LEDSupply or Dotlight.de or LED1.de would all be a good place to start but they are all in the $15+ area

Nick

CampingLED

Enlightened
:welcome:

My thoughts:
1) If you are into designing, modding, building, etc. you should read this article by a former CPF member. This shows that with current drivers you can change the efficiency by changing the values and quality of some components.
2) If you want to buy an off the shelf product there are so many to choose from. Doh!Nut has given some good advice to start your quest.
3) The most efficient and most dangerous method is to direct drive with one or multiple LEDs.

An extra 3% is probably unnoticable and 10 to 15% extra runtime may not be that much. It is always advisable to know your flashlights and their capabilities. If unsure, keep extra batteries in your pocket.

Packhorse

Flashlight Enthusiast
Greetings OL.
The KD P7 driver seems the best option for 6-12v at the moment AFAIK.
If you are in Auckland I would be happy to show you my light close up.