Help me build my first flashlight, please.

Gungrefjaert

Newly Enlightened
Hi
I've been browsing around this forum a few weeks now, after buying my first light (Led lenser power-chip). It's got a nice look and decent performance but then .......
I WANT MORE, GRRRRRRR.
Ive just got two problems. I'm rather low on funds and I live in Denmark, the country with nothing but old Surefires and diving lights.
Now I have decided that the only way (for now)to get a real "performer" is to build it myself.
I found a place which sells 5W Luxeons and somthing that looks like Fraen optics. I'm sure I'll find a way to make the body, but I need to find a small standard powerdriver too which I don't have to order from the US.

5W LS run 9V 700-750mA, right ??

It would be nice if I could use rechargeables without the whole thing ending up being too big.

Any suggestions for parts and other usefull tips ?

I know I can find a lot by browsing the forums but this makes it a bit easier for a total noob to survey.

I hope You'll spare a bit of goodies in this thread.

J

Gungrefjaert

Newly Enlightened
Well it does for a start but once again, I would perfer to find some standard driver which I can buy in Europe. If I order above 10$ from the US, customs will tjeck the package and I'll have to pay 25% of tax on top of the price of the product and of course the shippingcost

Doug Owen

Flashlight Enthusiast
[ QUOTE ]
Gungrefjaert said:

5W LS run 9V 700-750mA, right ??

[/ QUOTE ]

Actually the 700 mA Voltage is closer to 6.84 typically (5.43 to 8.31) according the the maker's specs. Understand a half Volt 'error' there is a 500 mA change in current (probably fatal to the part or 'mighty dark' depending). Voltage control seems at best questionable. The specs would indicate that two or three times this much error is easily 'still within spec'.