Lumapower MVP

donas

Newly Enlightened
I need to recommendations from those familar with the Lumapower MVP. I am a police officer who works night shift and am wondering if this light would be well suited for my needs. I recently returned a Cabelas brand 500 lumen light because the 35 dollar bulbs repeatidly blew.

Will this light remain bright over a period of time or does it begin to dim quickly? Can it be illuminated to long periods without over heating or causing some other type of problem? And lastly, does it have a constant on switch?....oh yea, one more-is it waterproof?

If anyone has any other recommendations please feel free to offer. I would like something super bright, led, and at least the size of a Streamlight Stinger (so I can hold it under my arm when using both hands).

tadbik

Enlightened
Hi, I'm a police officer in Israel. I have the MVP but I'd recommend the Night-Ops Gladius. The Gladius can be dimmed to any level The Gladius also has a strobe mode which I've only ever used once in a couple of years! The only thing is, makes sure you buy the correct belt holder for the Gladius as the protruding ring at the back make it difficult to use a generic pouch.

Good luck!

Last edited:

MattK

Flashlight Enthusiast
donas - there will be a full review coming in a few days from selfbuilt but let me answer your questions:
The MVP will maintain it's brightness fairly constantly - the regulation on 2x 18650 is very flat. It will not overheat; it's thermal mass is appropriate to it's drive levels and efficiency.
There are two switches; 1 is the power switch, on the tail which has momentary at half press and clicks to lock on full press. There is a second switch on the side to set the output level/mode.
The MVP is water & weather resistant (rain/puddle etc) only a relative handful of lights are 'waterproof' and most of those are dive lights.
The MVP has 3 levels of output plus a tactical strobe.