Newbie: Help? NDI vs D10 vs LF5XT vs RA Twisty

jlyrgr

Newly Enlightened
I am new to the flashlight world, but have been learning a lot lately.

Looking to buy a new EDC light and prefer the AA platform. Would anyone be able to give me some pointers . things to consider as far as eciding between these lights. Here are a couple questions that I have:

1.) I know the RA Twisty id different battery platform and price level... but I would spring for it if it really was THAT superior.

2.) Woudlreally likea pocket clip, and none of these have them... can I add one?

3.) Is the Novatac light one I should consider? (has clip...)

4.) Are they all waterproof?

Is there a light that I am overlooking?

Thank you in advance for your help!

JDP

gadgetnerd

Enlightened
Hi there jlyrgr

I own all of the lights in your title, and believe me it's difficult to pick a winner from them.

Personally, the Ra is a little big for EDC, but it's absolutely nuclear bomb proof, waterproof, looks great, has a flawless beam, great 3 mode (programmable) UI and a widely acknowledged genius designer (Henry Schneiker) who has been responsible for a great many torch innovations. Get one! Alternatively wait a few more weeks for the Clicky version, which should be all that the Novatac is, and more...

If you prefer AA for EDC, as I do, then it's probably a tossup between the LF5XT and the D10. Both are fantastic and innovative AA lights, it's down to whether you prefer the extreme UI flexibiity and perfect beam of the LF5XT, or the beautiful design and simple UI of the D10. You can get both for the price of a single Ra, so why don't you? I happily EDC either. BTW, they are more water resistant than waterproof, I wouldn't dive with them.

Be sure to read some of the many CPF threads extolling the pros and cons of each. Have fun.

Last edited:

jlyrgr

Newly Enlightened