Did you expect your D10 to be brighter? Beamshots inside.

MonkRX

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys! I'm new to CPF, and I've been lurking pretty much as long as I've had this user name. Before I make my comments about my new D10, I'm sure most people want to see the beamshots first. So let me post those.

Camera: Casio Exilim Pro EX-P505
Settings:
- Widest Apature, f3.3
- ISO 50 in all shots
- Widest part of the Zoom
- Shutter speed posted in the pictures

Nitecore D10: Fully Charged Rayovac Hybrid AA (Straight off the charger)
Romisen RC-N3: Fully Charged Trustfire Li-Ion RCR123
Fenix T1: Panasonic CR123A's - Whatever Charge was left in the Primaries that came with the light (last I checked it was about 3.1v, and I've only put about 10min on high into these batteries).

(If multimode) All flashlights were set to max. D10 was set using the "Click On; then double click-HOLD" shortcut.

D10 was cleaned and lubricated with Radio Shack "Needle-Tip Precision Lubricator" 5 minutes prior to testing.

d10n3t1beamshotspc0.jpg

Bigger images can be provided upon request.

Now for my comments. My girlfriend bought this flashlight for me! I was so happy :). I turned it on in daytime and the reflection off my hand blinded me. I was waiting for it to become nighttime.

However, once I started shining stuff on the walls with my current EDC (Romisen RC-N3) and compared against the D10, I became disappointed. To my eyes, the RC-N3 had a brighter spot AND brighter spill with an already "used" battery.

Many said that the D10 was incredibly bright, and that 130lm was "conservative". I may have read a few posts with people estimating the OTF lm being around 150lm. If so, I guess my RC-N3 is 170lm (sarcasm). :)