Thinking about making a headlamp...Advice please.

anthonytsi

Newly Enlightened
I am thinking about making my own headlamp from scratch. I'm talking about making the plastic housing and everything else. Of course I want to use LED's.
What I am aiming for is making a Petzl myo xp at less than half the cost and have it be as bright or brighter. I don't need a fancy switch. It will be on at full power all the time so the switch will be on or off, and I don't need any of the fancy options.
Having a spot is ok but I am really interested in making a "flood only" headlamp, so multiple led's is what i'm gunning for.
The reason for this build is that I love the flood of my Myo XP in a cave, but it's just not bright enough in the flood mode. The diffuser just takes too much light away. I also just want to do it for the only reason of doing it. I think it would be really cool to make one of my own.
Here's the problem.....I don't know nothing bout makin no led headlamp. I'm a newbie. The housing I can vacuum-form with no problem, and I can make a heatsink. The internals are what I know nothing about.:shrug:
Please point me in the right direction and I think I might become a future flashaholic.
Thanks in advance. Anthony

hopkins

Enlightened
You've got a rig to vac-u-form ABS plastic!! Outstanding.

For the new headlamp just copy as much from the myo xp as you can.
or any other headlamp picture you can find on the web. Lots
a variations that do the same job.

4AA Battery pack , headband , power wires ,a small switch, a big heatsink !

Buy a Cree emitter or other new high output led.

For a flood beam where the led is inside the reflector will be the key.
Probably have to shave the bottom to raise the led higher into the cone
for a wide beam.

uk_caver

Flashlight Enthusiast
If you're looking for flood-only cave lighting, particularly if you're going to use Seoul LEDs, I'd suggest at least thinking about trying out a small conical reflector dropped over the LED.