I've got a simple question (hopefully) for you GURU'S

crguin

Newly Enlightened
I ordered 20 1W Luxeon Star LED's in Batwing pattern.

Clear optic holders; 30deg lenses.

My problem is, I should have ordered Lambertian pattern LED's.

This is a group build between myself and some buddies. I'm new to all of this too which doesn't help. I just got in a hurry ordering components and punched in the wrong part numbers.

Am I screwed or does a reflective optic holder exist that will work.

Oh man do I feel like an idiot! That's about $70+ in LED's. I'm doubting the place I ordered from will let me send them back unused for exchange.

any advise would be appreciated.

thanks

Chris

darkzero

Flashaholic* ,
Should have ordered lambertian rather than batwings but then again you should have ordered Seoul P4s rather than Luxeons.

crguin

Newly Enlightened
Thanks Captain Obvious!

Seriously, this first build is a huge stepping stone. I'll move onto bigger and better things later. Ordering all the parts for this group build kinda fell onto me. I went with the Luxeons because they were fairly cheap. I knew which ones to get, I just didn't get the ones I NEEDED!:eek:

So anyway, over the next few days I think I might stick a lens onto some blue painters tape to protect the front, stick a cotton swab in the lens hole, and spray some chrome finish paint onto the sides. It dries very thin but doesn't like to be handled too much. Might work, might not.

I'd much rather have the real fix, but hey I'm a fixer, even if I have to dream it up.

I've read this forum for quite a few years. Some of the things you guys come up with really amaze me. I have a lot of respect for thinkers/do'ers.

I never realized it but I might be a flashaholic too. I know I'm a knifeaholic already. I'm a knifemaker so I do have some experience in the problem-solving arena. When you work out all the problems you are left with a knife, folders anyway.