I want to build a BRIGHT LED variable beam light

tobias

Newly Enlightened
Hello,
I thank you all for hanging out in an odd world.

I wish to build a variable beam and dimmable light using LEDs as a lightsource, that has an equivalent luminance output to a focused 250w + Halogen. I am a photographer and filmmaker, and I often need a good portable source of light, and for some reason I am always attracted to the DIY approach to innovation rather than the purchase of an expensive dedolight, or equivalent.

My thoughts were moving towards the use of a large LED array, using mirrors to narrow the beam of the array, into a mirrored box (a system used photographically to uniform a lightsource), which would then output through a condensing lens. My thoughts suggest that the mirrored box should contain a short focal fresnel facing the condenser which, ideally, would be a long focal fresnel (though they are hard to find).

Do any of you have any pointers, or possible suggestions that might reduce the complicity of the design, or shall i post a drawing? I guess i am looking for a beam that can be adjusted between about 20 and 60 degrees, and can produce as much light as possible. I am not too worried about power consumption, as my other alternative would be a 24v 250w halogen, which would burn more power and have more heat to dissipate.

Many thanks,
Tobias

SafetyBob

Enlightened
What you are talking about is probably to tall an order for here.

What stands out for me is the ability to adjust your beam from 20 to 60 degrees. That will take a lighting design engineer and a couple of weeks to figure out. It would be very, very complex as I understand your needs.