Hello, I'm complicated and new!

Shore08

Newly Enlightened
Hello! I have been lurking these boards for a little while and finally got around to getting an account set up. I am really new to all this, in fact until recently I didn't even know they had a word for people like us, let alone a place where they gathered! For my part I was just happy to know that contrary to what my wife had to say, I was in fact NOT crazy for being into flashlights (or at least I thought I was, after looking around here it is obvious that I am still very green!).

I have been trying to research a good EDC (every day carry, yeah?) light. I did not want to be one of those guys who pops in with his first post being 'help me help me I didn't bother to use the search feature!'. Not that there is anything intrinsically wrong with that, but it's not in my nature to ask for help when I can just do the leg work myself :D

Anyhow, enough of my rambling, let me get to what I'm here for. The wife has been pestering me about what I want for XMAS already. I know, good kind of problem to have, right? I am a FF/EMT, so a good light is always important in my line of work. In fact, I pretty much subscribe to the 'better to have it and not need it than need it and not have it' school of thought. In my turnout gear I carry a Streamlight Survivor LED (and I love it, it beats the heck outta anything else I've carried, plus it's the AA model so if the batteries go dead on scene I can swap them out), a Streamlight 3c Pro Polymer (which is on its way back to the mfg. for a warranty claim) and a very cheap Husky LED light (I think I got a 4 pack at Home Depot @ Christmas for like $15). The LED is a great throw away light, plus since it lasts a while on batteries I don't have to worry about my backup's backup being dead.