Raw Power

l1ghtm4ster

Newly Enlightened
Which would give me closest in light output to something like the Microfire Warrior III K3500R 35W HID? I want an LED light Q5 or SSC, and something that would run on the CR123's. I've read about lights such as the SPEAR, A9, Dereelight etc, but as I'm new to this some guidance would be much appreciated. Do any of the lights using Seoul P7 use CR123? And finally, which lights generally are known for staying cool and not getting to hot?

AOBRICK

Newly Enlightened
Thats a tall order. I think the first question is what are you planning to use the light for? 3,500 lumens is a lot of light, impractical for all but only the most specialized uses.

My fenix T1 and P3DQ5 are usually too bright on their higest settings. I have a MicroFire T500 on my AR-15 and at night It is bright enough for long range target identification.
My closest recommendation however is a multi-led in a Mag lite host(ex:electrolumens wall of fire, Malkoff triple, TLE-300)

I use a Malkoff Quad (no longer in production) to shine through even the darkest tint on traffic stops.

:welcome:

Gunner12

Flashaholic
:welcome:

3500 lumen, lets see. Presuming overdriven Cree Q5s at 300 lumen. The LED will be driven a bit more then 1.5 amp at that output, which is 50% more then the max recommended drive current. So that is 12 50% overdriven LEDs needed to hit that output, or around 15-16 normally driven ones. With an overdriven Seoul P7(so it hits 900 lumen), that's still 4 LEDs. That is a total of, humm, 3.6v * 1.5 amp * 12 LEDs = 64.8 watts of power(probably 45-65 watts, depending on LED). That's before losses by the driver. I don't think you need to do any calculations to see that there will be a lot of heat created. 45-65 is watt more then the 35 watt of the HID bulb, both before losses of the driver or ballast.