Low-medium modes & PWM?

kramer5150

Flashaholic
I'm a noob to multi-mode lights. Previously I was hesitant to invest in a mid-$$ multi-mode light for fear of reliability issues. Thus far my DX14442 has performed flawlessly, and has changed my viewpoint entirely, I've even dropped it once:twothumbs. If a $13 DX drop in is this reliable heck the higher $$$ ones must be outstanding. Time for me to expand.

I was wondering if you could comment a little on your various lights (headlamps included) low and medium modes and the PWM pulsing for each. If you shine the light at a running water faucet or fan... how severe are the PWM effects? Is it tolerable? or does it look like a nightclub strobe?... or is it completely non-existent. I know this is highly subjective, and I dont expect everyone to agree completely... but thats OK so long as we agree to disagree.:twothumbs

**edit** And if your lights do not use a PWM circuit at all (and avoid the issue all together), please comment on that as well.

thanks in advance;)

Last edited:

Marduke

Flashaholic
That depends entirely on the PWM frequency (and hence the specific light). Some lights give off a noticeable flicker on low even with nothing moving in the beam. Some lights have the PWM set to several kHz, and you would have to be using it around some high speed turbo machinery to even have a chance to notice it.

And lots of lights don't even use PWM for mode control, so it's a non-issue.

Buck91

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've never noticed the pwm on my L1T V2.0. I typically use it in the real world on low when I'm out in the woods or the like.