LED Failure

okbohn

Newly Enlightened
I am new to LEDs. I am totally sold on them--LOVE them.

so here is my question--they seem so solidly built. What kind of unique issues do you have with LED lights? What really stupid thing can you do to mess them up?

LukeA

Flashlight Enthusiast
Reverse battery polarity.

EDIT: I should clarify, reverse polarity doesn't typically damage the LED itself (which, still functioning as a diode, blocks current with reverse polarity), but most driver boards release the dreaded magic smoke when power is applied to them backwards.

Last edited:

Rossymeister

Enlightened
-Reverse Polarity
-Overdriving With Too High Of A Current
-Chip Weevils
-Overheating
-Accidentally Touching The Dome Of The LED

Thats all that i can think of at the moment

okbohn

Newly Enlightened
On the reverse polarity thing...don't some of the lights have protection for that? Does it work?

LukeA

Flashlight Enthusiast
On the reverse polarity thing...don't some of the lights have protection for that? Does it work?

Mechanical reverse polarity protection involves a nub on either side of the positive contact on the bottom of the board to prevent the cell's flat bottom from making contact. Beautifully simple. Other boards have diodes on them, but this can be wasteful of battery capacity.

okbohn

Newly Enlightened
Reverse battery polarity.

EDIT: I should clarify, reverse polarity doesn't typically damage the LED itself (which, still functioning as a diode, blocks current with reverse polarity), but most driver boards release the dreaded magic smoke when power is applied to them backwards.

Smoke would be bad. :)

Hitthespot

Flashlight Enthusiast
I am new to LEDs. I am totally sold on them--LOVE them.

so here is my question--What kind of unique issues do you have with LED lights?