DIY LED Canister Light Questions

ElGuano

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,

Another newbie looking for DIY advice. I've done some preliminary research and searches, and found just enough answers to spur a ton of new questions. Hopefully I'm posting this in the right forums; mods please feel free to move it if it's not.

I'm interested in building my own LED canister dive light. I've never done this before, have a startling lack of electrical/circuitry experience and tools, but I'm fairly handy and can follow instructions and figure things out/improvise when needed. Also, it seems like a really fun project, I might be able to save a little money (maybe not enough), and I think I have realistic expectations.

Here's what I'm looking for: a 10-15w light outputting about 700-1000 lumens, for about 4 hours. 200-300ft depth, just in case. A tight beam is key, I really don't want a flood. Something that's 6 degrees or less would be ideal. Because of that, it sounds like a single emitter would be best, though I'd be happy to go 3-4 emitters if that's what it takes. In essence, I'd like to emulate, or slightly beat, this: http://www.salvosupply.com/inc/sdetail/2057 - if I can do it for less than $400, I'd be totally stoked.

So, any advice would be greatly appreciated. Also, I've got a few specific questions stemming from the somewhat geeky talk I've been reading here.

1. Is there a general tutorial or how-to with regards to the electronics? I figure I'll need an emitter, some wires and solder, a heat sink, and maybe a driver? Or I can direct-drive but it's more strain on the LED? I'm not sure exactly how that works.