Princeton Tec Amp 5.0

SomeCallMeTim

Newly Enlightened
I'm looking for a flashlight that I can use for night geocaches.

I have a headlamp but if I'm looking for firetacks in the woods a ways away I need something that can illuminate the firetacks between 200-300 feet away. My headlamp won't throw light that far.

I'd also like something that will:
  • last longer than 4 hours on a set of small batteries
  • will be okay if it is raining.

I stumbled across the Princeton Tec Amp 5.0 and it looks like it might fit the bill...and then I stumbled across this site and figured that as a newbie I might be oblivious to much better options that folks in these forums would know about.

Thoughts?

Thanks!

Misterbean

Newly Enlightened
I personally love Princeton Tec as a brand. I do know that it will absolutely survive the rain and will probably last 4hrs plus on the high setting. It probably will light up the firetacks but at a claimed 65 lumens it won't do it overly well. How much are you willing to spend. It sounds like a fenix l2d or p3d might be a good option. more than bright enough on high and will last close to that long. medium is as bright or brighter than 65 lumens and will last a long time.

metlarules

Flashlight Enthusiast
For throw nothing beats a large reflector.I would suggest a mag 2c with a terralux dropin. If your looking for something smaller have a look at the lumapower d-mini.

gswitter

Flashlight Enthusiast