Help an NYPD officer please

schremp44

Newly Enlightened
Hello I'm a NYC Police Officer on foot post for now. It is imperitive that I have a great flashlight as the area i work in is extremely dark and I am constantly monitoring little dark alleys and such where people go to do stupid things. I am looking for a REMARKABLEY bright flashlight. Right now I am using a flashlight with an R2 drop in and even that is not doing the trick. I need something that will light up practically an entire city block if that is possible. In terms of size I'm not looking to go much larger than a 2 C Mag Light. It MUST be rechargeable one way or another. I am looking for at least 45 minutes of run time out of the batteries also. I was looking at the WickedLaser Torch and while that is probably (even more than) the brightness I'm looking for, the 15 minutes of battery just doesnt cut it. Also that light as well as the Borrealis seem to have very complicated Battery charging systems. Anyone have any ideas to help me out! PLEASE? THANK YOU!

Oh most importantly. I'm willing to spend around 150 but willing to go as high as 300 if its TRULY worth it.

SureAddicted

Enlightened
Wolf Eyes Rattlesnake 700 Lumens - 45 min runtime - Charger Included
Wolf Eyes Boxer 1800 lumens - 1 hr runtime - Charger Included
SureFire M6 250/500 lumens - 1 hr/20 min runtime
SureFire UB2 (when its released) ~400 lumens - 1 hr runtime

Last edited:

schremp44

Newly Enlightened
I am looking probably for a good balance of both. I want an entire street to light up while still focusing in on a given object to the point where I can see details on an object a city block away as though that object were in daylight

dougie

Enlightened
Some of the above may do at a pinch but nothing (IMHO) meets all of your requirements. The closet in performance would be a HID but they are way too expensive and not exactly belt carry! In addition they are potentially less liable to survive the rigors of daily duty.