LED noob here with a simple question - 76 LED head light

ryancr

Newly Enlightened
I have started looking into a head light for a bike (a trike recumbent w/electric assist actually). So naturally I went looking into LEDs, off to ebay, lots of stuff from china.

I am curious, is something like this just as waste of money?

http://cgi.ebay.ca/76-LED-Bicycle-Torch-Head-Flash-Light-Bike-Lamp_W0QQitemZ150302461210QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item150302461210&_trkparms=72%3A1215|39%3A1|66%3A2|65%3A12|240%3A1318&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

As I read more about Luxeon, Cree, etc I realize that more leds must not equal better/more light.

*And it also looks like it would be fun to build my own headlight ;)

UPDATE: hyperloop asked for some photos, so here they are:

Last edited:

hyperloop

Flashlight Enthusiast
Just read your post, could you post a pic of your trike?? Havent seen one of those before. And, a picture of your trike may assist in recommendations for lights and mounting systems as not everyone (speaking for myself) has seen a trike.

And yes, more LEDs doesnt mean brighter and better.

You might want to check out this thread in another part of CPF

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=86

ryancr

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the quick reply.

Well the trike is a homemade job, and we are currently working on a fully enclosed body (for the wet cold days we have here). The head light will be nested into the nose of the body.

I am now looking at building something with a BuckPuck 1000mA and 3 Luxeon III's or the K2 (but of course now I read that the newer Cree's are better).

The 'master' plan is to have headlight, front/rear signals and a tail/breaklight all running off a 12V battery.

As for pictures, I don't have any new ones of the body yet, but I will soon (I hope to have it on the road by the end of the month)

I know I have some pics of the trike itself around here, I will post one when I find it.

And thanks for the link to the Bicycle sub forum.