New to HO flashlights

Andrewr05

Newly Enlightened
I'm a noob to flashlights and this forum.
I think the idea of a HighOutput LED flashlight is awesome.

I've come to like (by reading reviews mind you) the Fenix flashlights.

The only real reason I would be getting a high output light opposed to using my pathetic (in light output) minimag would be fun I guess.

I don't have a job to use it for and my life won't depend on it, but I see that quit a few (well most actually) of you guys may be in my situation as well.

You can just appreciate a well made flashlight that will throw a beam better than some cars and put some people in awe.

Now comes the dreaded question:
(I know some of you are gonna "sigh" and say not another noob looking for the brightest thing he can get his hands on)

Which flashlight should I get if I wanted an intense/bright somewhat medium sized spot at ~100ft?

Now of course there are stipulations:

• AA (2,3,4 AA I don't care) Maybe even persuade me to go CR123 or even C-cell?
  • Under $60 (I could stretch a bit if I had to)
  • Somewhat pocket sized (Smaller than a 2cell maglite)
I've been looking into the Fenix lights and have specifically been looking at the Fenix Digital L2D Black Premium Q5.
But...
(yes there is always a but)
The L2T,
E20 and LD10 are all within that price range and are similar in output. (barring of course the single setting E20)

Mind you the brand doesn't really matter to me as long as you guys (the experts) tell me its a good brand I won't think twice about ordering one.

and don't forget I might get into the "hobby" of flashlights I don't need it to be anything tactical or superstrong, although being rugged is certainly a plus.

:twothumbs
Andrewr05

Last edited:

rockz4532

Enlightened