Cr123s OR 18650???

JimmerG

Newly Enlightened
Simple question - I hope.

I've got a Romisen RC-G4.... with a Cree Q4. Would it run longer and brighter on 2x CR123s or 1x 18650?

Waddya think?

Marduke

Flashaholic
Brighter on CR123's, longer runtime on 18650's.

CR123's will be regulated, 18650 will be regulated for about the first 1/4, DD with declining output for the trailing 3/4 (approximately)

JimmerG

Newly Enlightened
Thanks Marduke,

very interesting, a nice simple answer - finally I'm beginning to clear the confusing fog around this technical industry - so how do these batteries compare with Nimh batteries - I've got a brilliant focusable Q5 that runs off 3x Nimh AAs in a remote battery pack.

And whilst I'm at it - would cheap 2500 mah Nimh from Lidl (approx $2 for 4) show the same performance as the more expensive ones

I know these are very basic questions that probably need far more accurate info - but alas I'm only starting to learn, and get addicted to, flash lights!!!

Marduke

Flashaholic
Thanks Marduke,

very interesting, a nice simple answer - finally I'm beginning to clear the confusing fog around this technical industry - so how do these batteries compare with Nimh batteries - I've got a brilliant focusable Q5 that runs off 3x Nimh AAs in a remote battery pack.

And whilst I'm at it - would cheap 2500 mah Nimh from Lidl (approx $2 for 4) show the same performance as the more expensive ones

I know these are very basic questions that probably need far more accurate info - but alas I'm only starting to learn, and get addicted to, flash lights!!!

Is the brilliant focus Q5 a headlamp? Using NiMH cells, you will have a number of hours of pseudo-regulation (the light is direct drive, but NiMH will give a pretty constant output).