Far throw in 2 & 3 cell CR123A

shramj

Newly Enlightened
I am a noob with high tech flashlights and I just got an Olight Warrior M20 and a Fenix LOD Q4. I must say I am really happy with both lights. I think the flood and throw on the M20 is awesome, it is a great overall light and the LOD Q4 is a grear AAA light. I was just curious of some 2 and 3 cell CR123A lights that have high throw but not the $300 price tag. My buddy has a Surefire M3 combat light and that thing is insane from what I can remember. What are some cheaper options for flashlights with high throw?

WildChild

Flashlight Enthusiast
You should try an E2E/E2D with a Lumens Factory EO-E2R bulb (works with RCR123A). You get a nice bright hotspot and the flashlight is very comfortable in the hand. Another option, brighter but with less runtime would be a fivemega's socket with a Streamlight TL-E bulb, again on RCR123A. This is really bright! :)

DCP117

Newly Enlightened
Go for a SF 9P. It runs off 3 primaries and has good throw. Lamp assemblies are easy to replace either with a SF p90 lamp assembly or a Lumens Factory lamp assembly of your choice (D26 series). You can't go wrong with a Surefire 9P.

shomie911

Enlightened
Far throw in a 2 cell light you ask?

Surefire 6P with KT2 (or KT1) Turbohead and a FM Bi-Pin MN Adapter with a WA1111 bulb. Driven by 2x AW IMR16340 (LiMn Rechargeables, CR123A size). Somewhere around ~1000 torch lumens. There won't be many 2 cell flashlights brighter or farther throwing than this light.

- Surefire 6P ~ $50 (used)
- Surefire KT1/2 ~ $80 (used)
- 2x AW IMR16340 ~ $16.50 (new)
- FM Bi-Pin MN Adapter ~ $51 (new)
- 2x WA1111 ~ $20.50 (new)
---------------------------------------
Total: ~$218.00

Pretty cheap considering the massive output and small size.

Here's that light with a Surefire MN16 lamp assembly instead. (I haven't bought the FM Bi-Pin MN Adapter and WA1111 bulb yet.)

img6020zp1.jpg

img6021dx8.jpg

Art Vandelay

Flashlight Enthusiast