Slightly radioactive flashlight, or?

brightarc

Newly Enlightened
Hi.
I recently bought two Romisen RC-N3 flashlights and I suspect that they are very slightly radioactive.

I have a geiger counter set up to monitor the background radiation in my bedroom. It usually reads about 0.14 µSv/h so I'll use that figure as a baseline.

When I place either one of the flashlights beside the geiger counter the frequency of wich it registers counts increases from about 0.14 µSv/h to 0.25 µSv/h.

That is an increase of 0.11 µSv/h or about 79% in radiation from the baseline.

I am just a novice when it comes to the field of radiology, but I suspect that the flashlight's are slightly radioactive.

If anyone with a little bit more insight and experience could clear this up a little bit for me would be much appreciated!

:poke:

Last edited:

MrGman

Flashlight Enthusiast
could be the phosphor of the phosphor coating over the LED.

brightarc

Newly Enlightened
Good idea, but I don't believe that the led is the source of the radiation.
My other flashlights, also cree ones, does not raise the radiation readout on the counter.

gOhAsE

Newly Enlightened
There have always been rumors that contaminated steel could get into production processes.

Contaminated steel has already been found on several scrapyards in Europe (where at least some scans for such material are made) and even some products from china did contain contaminated steel.

I always wanted to check my chinese lights if they contain contaminated materials.

Here is an automatic translation of an German article about this problem:

http://translate.google.de/translate?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.heise.de%2Ftp%2Fr4%2Fartikel%2F28%2F28546%2F1.html&sl=de&tl=en&hl=de&ie=UTF-8

Last edited:

Marduke

Flashaholic
There have always been rumors that contaminated steel could get into production processes.