EMT needs help choosing a headlamp

EMT40SW

Newly Enlightened
As my username implies I am an EMT and I am looking for a headlamp that will be used occationally for search & rescue type missions. It will be backed up by a Surefire 6P, but I am looking for a headlamp to allow enough light to allow me to hike safely. It might serve double duty as a task light once I am at a patient to start IVs, splint ect. but this is not a requirement. My budget is preferably under $50 with some $25 options. I found this, but am open to any suggestions. I am a complete rookie on headlamps so I have no parameters on batteries or bulb type, just suggest the most mission oriented tool for the budget:

http://www.brightguy.com/products/Streamlight_Trident_UL_Headlamp.php

Thank you in advanced.

saabgoblin

Enlightened
I had a Trident for a while at work until it was stolen,a good headlamp, but I really like the Princeton Tec Eos and their Eos Work Light has numerous safety ratings/hazardous location ratings. Check them out at Brightguy and keep your eye on the lumens chart because their new offerings are rated at 50 vs 24-25 Lumens.

You can rip the Eos right off of your head and slip it in your pocket very easily. I have only tried the older lower output Eos versions but I hear, and have seen in reviews, that their beam quailty has greatly improved. There are many variations on the Eos headlamp and many of them have been examined in CPF. You might want to check an older thread or PM someone who has used the newer versions for some specifics. I have the Original and the Tactical Eos and they are great for hiking at the older lumen output so the softer brighter beam would probably make a great lamp even better.

Hope that this helps

Last edited:

Hooked on Fenix

Flashlight Enthusiast