Question about L1 runtime on high - doesn't seem right....

KDOG3

Flashlight Enthusiast
I see that the E1Ls' runtime on high is 8.5hrs with a rated output of 45 lumens. The L1s' runtime on high is a mere 1.5 hrs with a rated output of 65 lumens. I think we can agree that Surefire underrates the output of their lights. But the L1 only puts out 20 lumens more yet its runtime is roughly 1/7th that of the E1L. Why is that? Has anyone done a runtime plot for the new L1s? I wonder if they underrated the runtime too. Just doesn't seem right for the output. In my feeble mind, at 65 lumens (which is probably 85 -90 ish in reality but the point being) It should go for at least 2 SOLID hours before dropping out of regulation. Anyone else see where I'm getting at?

js

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yes. I see what you're getting at. I have no experience with the E1L, but I do own an L1 Cree, and I can tell you right off the bat that the L1 is not a constant current regulation circuit. At the start of the run it is brighter than at the end of the run. OK. So there's that. Next, I think the runtime is a lot longer than 1.5 hours, like maybe 2 or 2.5 hours ??? And it doesn't drop out of regulation, just gets progressively dimmer. I did do a runtime test when I first got the light, but I can't remember the result right now, and am here at work, not at home. As for the output, I haven't tried to accurately estimate it yet, but I suspect that you are just about right at 85 to 90 lumens.

That's all I can add. Hope it helps.

jzmtl

Flashlight Enthusiast
L1's runtime is spot on, steady decline from on, 1.5 hours to 50% output. SF are kinda lacking in efficiency department, not much we can do about that.

As for E1L's runtime, I think it was around when P60L was released SF started to use inflated runtime which include both regulated and moon mode. So in reality E1L's runtime in regulation is nowhere near 8.5 hours. I don't think there are any tests on the two stage E1L yet.

js