newbie question!

viking1973

Newly Enlightened
Hi, this is my first post on this forum so please understant my ignorance on the subject. I work in Law Enforcement and have allways been fan of flashlights since I use them as tool. I just didn't knew how much I was fascinated about them untill I found THIS forum :twothumbs
Now here is my question, I have a streamlight scorpion LED with the C4 led on it. This is the great flashlight, a bit big for EDC but it light better than any other flashlight I've ever owned. The manufacturer say it give 120 lumens.
Last week I got a Fenix P2D and a fenix L2D with Q5 head wich the manufacturer say give 180 lumens.
Yesterday I took them out for a night trip, I live in the mountains and there is no city lights. I was very surprise to see that the streamlight with C4 head light much better and farther than the fenix who should light 60 lumens more!!! is it normal?
I tough than the more lumens the more power, but in this case the 120 lumens is more powerfull than those 2 lights with 180 lumens!
Thanks for the help!

toolpig1

Enlightened
Don't confuse total output with throw. It's possible to have a torch with greater total output (lumens) but less throw (lux or candlepower) compared to another. For example, a torch designed for "flood" may cast a huge amount of light, but the light is spread out over a large area. A highly focused torch may actually output less total light, but when the light is packed into a tight spot that projects much farther, then people perceive it as brighter. Read this, Doug did a much better job of explaining this:
http://www.flashlightreviews.com/features/lux.htm

Imagine if you had 2 cubic feet of sand and proceeded to spread it over an area the size of a city block, you'd barely see it. Now take only 1 cubic foot of sand and dump it in a pile. I'm certain the pile of sand would appear "bigger" even though it's half the amount that got spread out.

Last edited:

viking1973

Newly Enlightened