How can CPFers cash in on LED technology?

V8TOYTRUCK

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have always wondered with so many industries utilizing LEDs now and will be in the future, how can we cash in on it? Are Lumileds and Nichia privately owned companies? If not, then how can I get in on some shares of Lumileds/Nichea stock and cash in big time when the rest of the world catches on that LEDs are the future?

EMPOWERTORCH

Enlightened
I presume that if a manufacturer is a plc we can buy shares in it, as plc means that it has been floated on the Stock Exchange. I don't know of any plc's in the LED manufacturing scene.

We could of course wait for Wayne's ELEKTROLUMENS company to grow and invest in the torch business!

BuddTX

Flashlight Enthusiast
While I am NO EXPERT on investments, I WILL tell you this:

JUST having a good product, or a good idea, or a good concept, will not GUARANTEE that you will be successful in the stock market. (I am not saying that it will not, either).

Look at AMD. For years, they were selling chips that were Intel compatabale, and ran faster and sold for less than the equavilent Intel chip, but their stock never sky rocketed!

I have a friend who is a career chef, and the one thing that he will not do, is invest in any company that has anything to do with food. Reason is, is that he doesn't want his professional opinion to cloud is investments. He might see a great new product, come out, and he says to himself, I have been waiting my entire career for someone to come out with this product, and invest in it, and the company not do well.

Or maybe the trend is to invest in companies a layer or two below the LED market. Invest in the company that supplies the tools to MAKE the LED's.

You are right, it is worth looking at, but just realise, that just because you say "This is the flashlight that I have been waiting for my entire life", does not mean that the company will be a stock market success.