Can you get solar power from an LED?

ScubaSnyder

Enlightened
I have only taken Physics I and II and I am wondering if it is possible to make a light that can self charge off of its own emitted light? I know that light could not generate enough solar energy(if any) to self charge lion cells to a point where the light could run on low ? This may be a dumb idea but with all of the new technology with capacitors and solar could we make a light that is self-sufficient with a low light power?

Its late and just and Idea so please dont flame me, but as an avid backpacker/field scientist I fell something can be created.

t3h

Newly Enlightened
Conservation of energy. If you have 10W of light coming out the front, and then capture it with a 100% efficient solar panel (impossible), you'll have 10W of power. The problem is, though, that you'll be able to use 0W of that light, as it's all going to recharge the battery. Hence this will not work.

This, however, is another concept: using an inductive charge pump to draw nearly all the energy out of a battery: http://www.bigclive.com/joule.htm

It's possible to do this with a rechargable, but I wouldn't as it will ruin it. But running a single LED off 1 flat AA is quite cool.

worldedit

Enlightened
Cant work, theres allways a loss when you transform power (from electricity to light and back).

Juggernaut

Flashlight Enthusiast