Internet Explorer sucks

Chromatophile

Newly Enlightened
After a bit of thought, I have decided that I thoroughly hate Internet Explorer 5.2 for Mac. Besides the tendency to 'unexpectedly quit' without warning, it also does not display foreign language characters/fonts correctly (I have all the fonts needed for this; IE just doesn't display them). I'm studying Danish, and much to my disbelief, IE often fails to display the accented letters bolle (Å å), streg (Ø ø) and the a/e ligature (Æ æ), which are included in almost every Latin font in existence. The browser I really liked was Chimera (now Camino) but it developed a fatal bug last year and it refuses to launch. Someone (I think it was Tomas) told me that I could find the answer to my problem on MacFixIt, but I was put off when I found it was a paid service (I'm a teenager with no money). Can someone be nice n' sweet to me and tell me how to fix the bug? I don't think I can stand one more day of Explorer. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/icon15.gif

- James

James S

Flashlight Enthusiast
I would also question the logic of using IE for anything nowadays. If you're running OSX then Safari is definitely the way to go. If you hit a site that it wont render then mozilla will. I have yet to hit anything that the second beta doesn't work with though.

if you cannot launch Chimera, and you can't launch any version of it for the last year then I would guess you have a corrupt preference file that causes all of them to crash. Find your preferences folder and delete that. Might also check to make sure you haven't got a gig of garbage in your bookmarks file or something like that.

If none of that helps at all, please post more info about your machine. OS, hardware etc.

PaulW

Flashlight Enthusiast
Just a testimonial here.

I've had problems with IE ever since I started using it. A month I tried Mozilla because the advertisements and pop-ups were driving me bugs.