Binocular Indirect Ophthalmoscope

drneale

Newly Enlightened
Hi. I'm an eye doctor at the University of Virginia interested in developing my own equipment. In particular, I use a device called a binocular indirect ophthalmoscope. It sounds complicated, but is simply a glorified flashlight worn on the head. The problem is that the commercially available products are large, cumbersome, and cost 3 to 5 thousand dollars. There is obviously a lot of miniaturization that has occurred lately that could be capitalized upon.

I have made a prototype that weighs only a few ounces using a xenon bulb assembly from Princeton Tec Rage (only cost $3) and two CR123 batteries.

Its bright. very bright. However, the beam is too diffuse. I need it to focus to about a four inch spot at a distance of about half a meter. I have tried several converging lenses, but can't get it to look right.

Also, I'm sure that the light and power supply I chose could be improved upon. With the encyclopedic knowledge the users of this site seem to possess, I hope I can improve my design.

A couple stipulations:
1. The light source has to be similar in color to incandescent. I am using a xenon source and it is just right. LED just won't work.
2. I would prefer a rechargeable lithium ion battery. This is something I may use for up to two hours per day, and I can't spend a fortune on cR123 cells.
3. The entire assembly must be light enough to be supported by a spectacle frame.
4. I don't want to blow myself up.

Thanks in advance,

Matt

ambientmind

Enlightened
first, :welcome: