Newbie Question

nicholas1986

Newly Enlightened
Hi I am Nicholas from singapore and a Newbie here. i would like to ask a stupid question.
I read on surefire website that their mno3 lamp is 60 lumens output for 75 minutes. does that means that i have to change the bulb every 75 min of run time? if not what is the actual time needed before i need to change the bulb?
same for the the Surefire L1 which stated 'Output/Runtime - High beam runtime approx. five hours with 15 lumens maximum output. Low beam runtime approx. 50 hours'
another thing is that which is better if i am considering either the 6p, g2, e2e or L1?

Thankyou

I_rv_too

Newly Enlightened
Welcome Nicholas!

No, you don't have to change the bulb. The runtime refers to how long a fresh set of batteries will last in the flashlight!

You'll need to replace the batteries every 75 minutes.

I_rv_too

Newly Enlightened
>>which is better

The rule here at CPF is "Buy them all!" That's what most folks do.

You're new. You'll learn. You'll also be spending a bunch of money on flashlights!

EMPOWERTORCH

Enlightened
Welcome to the whacky world of the torchaholic!
Run time for a particular torch will depend very much on usage, temperature and battery type, as well as the "freshness" of the batteries.
The run time shown is usually the time taken for the torch's output to drop to a certain level after being left on constantly, which isn't the general way that they're used. Batteries in torches that are used intermittently could last much longer in total than those in torches used constantly, as they have a chance to recover.
If you need a torch that has a really long run time you need either a large torch or a torch with a lower power rating, or in the case of some of the torches now available, variable power rating.

nicholas1986

Newly Enlightened
when i buy the e2e or any other lights. what are the points to take note that the light is not a defect

Rothrandir

Flashaholic