4WD advice ??

Silviron

Flashlight Enthusiast
Well, My old Suzuki Samurai sort gave it up today, and I'm trying to figure out what to do. The main thing is the clutch went out- No problem, I can fix that, but I don't know if I should bother The vehicle is really beat up-

The engine is really tired too- It has about 150,000 HARD miles on it and while it doesn't leak or burn oil, my compression is about 50% of OEM spec and only about 75% of minimum recommended acceptable. So, I really need a rebuild on the engine too, and I don't think I'm a good enough mechanic to do a complete rebuild myself, althbough I can probably do a long block installation.

Of course I could do an engine/tranny swap to a small V-6, and I'd like the extra performance, but that would be at the edge of my mechanical competence too, and I don't think I want to have to deal with all the unexpected "making stuff fit and operate" hassles.

So, really, the SMART thing to do would be to buy a new vehicle. ( I won't buy used, even though my budget is more in line with used).

So, I'm asking for advice and your experiences within my limitations: I need four wheel drive, and I can pay about $20,000 cash and have an about $1500 - $2000 trade-in value on another car. A pickup would be more practical, so I can haul more crap around, but a SUV type would be OK too.

I don't want anything fancy, but fairly comfortable (which the Samurai definitely ain't) tough and reliable.

Any ideas??? Thanks!

Chris T

Newly Enlightened
Re: 4WD advice

My first suggestion would be the Jeep Wrangler. Its pretty powerful with the 6 cylinder but the 4 may be closer to your budget. If I was still single I'd get another one /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
My current ride is the Kia Sorento. Its a about 25k out the door and the 10 year/100,00 mile warranty is a good selling point.

Chris

geepondy

Flashlight Enthusiast