Did i just buy a U2 or U2A?

diablo266

Newly Enlightened
Hello everyone, i am very new to this hobby and after scouring the forums for days i decided to purchase a U2 last night. I went to my local surefire dealer and picked up what i think is a U2. I have been reading that the U2 has a black inner sleeve that needs to be removed in order to fit the larger 18650 lion's and my light does not have that. Anyways here are some pics (they link to larger images) any help would be greatly appreciated because i would like to buy some rechargeable's asap.

Size15's

Flashaholic
:welcome:
The way to tell the U2A from the U2 is by it's LED - show us a photo of it and we'll be able to tell whether it's a U2 or U2A.
The body has not had the insert tube for some time, long before the U2A.

diablo266

Newly Enlightened
Thank you for the warm welcoming. It was tough getting a picture of the led, but i think it came out alright. Can you tell from the earlier pictures if it will accept the 18650 cells? Thanks again!

diablo266

Newly Enlightened
Thank you for the warm welcoming. It was tough getting a picture of the led, but i think it came out alright.

ja10

Enlightened
Thank you for the warm welcoming. It was tough getting a picture of the led, but i think it came out alright. Can you tell from the earlier pictures if it will accept the 18650 cells? Thanks again!

That looks like the Luxeon V LED in my U2. That would make your U2 the original, not the U2A.

Also, unless you got a really old body, your U2 won't accept 18650 cells. You can always put a 17670 in there though, and the only downside is that the capacity is lower.

Grox

Flashlight Enthusiast
Ah yes, the U2! A great light, and one that I still use a lot! Congratulations on your purchase!

Welcome to CPF!

PhantomPhoton

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yep getting a good picture of an LED can be tricky but you did well. Definitely a U2. Luxeon V LED in there.