Windows Vista Upgrade story

meuge

Enlightened
As I have now gotten past my no-income college days (and into the almost-no-income grad school days) I thought I'd do the responsible thing, and ensure that ALL the software I use is legit.

Now, on the laptop I use for work, I have been using Ubuntu Linux for over 2 years now, with great success and satisfaction. However, my desktop, which gets used for games, was using Windows XP.

I was upgrading the desktop, and decided to purchase Windows Vista. I purchased the Windows Vista 64 bit Ultimate Upgrade directly from Microsoft via the student deal ($65). I moved my XP Home (licensed) from my laptop to my desktop, and decided to run the upgrade.

Alas, the upgrade refused to run, which prompted me to google the error... and came up with the following conclusion:

In order to run the Vista 64 upgrade, I had to already have Vista 64 installed (or Windows 2003 64 bit server, I guess).

No, I am not kidding.

After much research I realized that:
1. Microsoft is aware of the issue (hundreds of complaints)
2. They have absolutely no interest in resolving it.

After several hours of doing research, consulting the tech forums, downloading utilities, and modifying the installation files, I was finally able to get the install files into a bootable DVD that would let me run the installation (due to a faulty motherboard, I am not sure whether it will be successful yet, but we'll see in a couple of days).

As a conclusion, given what Microsoft is willing to put its paying customers through (and don't get me started on the quality of Vista itself), I would highly advocate that unless you absolutely MUST have Windows, you should really consider the fast, effortless and capable Linux systems that are now available from major manufacturers (and did I mention, cheaper...?) such as from www.dell.com/ubuntu.

Spikedog

Newly Enlightened