Looking for a New Surefire...

BravoFoxtrot

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to CPF and have found this forum an invaluable tool in attaining flashlight knowledge. After researching everything ad nauseum, I think I've decided on 2 lights. Now it gets tricky....I can't decide between the two.

Here are the intended uses:
1) Camping - I camp in remote parts of Colorado backcountry and having a good light is paramount for everything from night land nav to identifying critters (bears/cougars/crackheads). Battery life and useful output are key.

2) Fishing/Hunting - Battery life is probably the biggest thing (especially when quartering an animal at night). But being able to really throw a beam to find an ice fishing spot or to work your way out of a draw with a quartered elk in tow would be nice.

3) SD Light - It will be paired with a Glock for defense.

I'm sticking to Surefire only even though there are a lot of reputable and quality light mfg's out there. Here are the two models I've narrowed it down to. (Note - If I'm missing a better model, please suggest it!)

E2DL
U2 Ultra

Thanks in advance!
Joe

Caveat - I've been to a ton of stores trying to do a comparison, but it seems everyone is sold out of SF models I'm looking for.

cabbynate

Newly Enlightened
I really like the E2DL. It throws great and the 2 stages are great for battery conservation. Can't go wrong with this light.
:welcome:

Ny0ng1

Enlightened

U2A (U2 with seoul led instead of lux5) would do better job at 1) and 2)
E2DL would do better job at 3)

I personally recommend U2A if you can afford it :thumbsup:

Niconical

Enlightened
E2DL, definately.

You've clearly done the groundwork yourself, which is why that light is on your shortlist. The beam it puts out on high is stunning, and in the dark of night (and I'm guessing it gets pretty dark in the remote parts of Colorado backcountry) the low level is good for moving around.